This is an excellent post by artist Suhita Shirodkar, a beginner’s watercolour lesson for her daughter Kavya. The results are astonishing, it makes us stop and think how we look at things when we draw.

We at MonkeySideBars are more than happy for our members to be creative and we hope the artists are aware that posts to the game can be drawn or created using any medium.

Take a look through this post and you will also see a link about a lesson on how to draw people.

Monkey on 🙂

Sketch Away: Travels with my sketchbook

My daughter Kavya and I sometimes sketch together. Most often that means we sit next to each other and draw. But this weekend I thought I’d do a little ‘lesson’ with her and talk her through how I look at things when I draw.

I simplified what I look for and think of as I paint, but essentially this is how I work . I wanted her to work from observation, not just copy what I painted. So we made a simple setup. I made notes of what I told her as we drew and painted. Here is what I recorded of her painting (all the images except the last one are her work) and what I remember telling her. I thought I’d share it: a beginner’s lesson in drawing and painting from direct observation.

Here is our setup. Simple enough. 2 pears in contrasting colors. ( Don’t have pears? Use anything simple-shaped without too much surface decoration.)
1setup

The trickiest…

View original post 511 more words

Art, Artist, , , , , ,

About Monkey Side Bars

Monkey Side Bars is a twice-a-week drawing game where you are challenged to a piece of art on a specific theme. Players take turns selecting the theme for each round. On the reveal date for each round, we co-ordinate a mass posting to Instagram simultaneously across the globe (see posting times and collages). Be sure to check your posting time. The game is open to all who wish to participate. We welcome all levels of skill from beginners to hobbyists to professionals. All you need is a creative mind, a sense of humor, and a willingness to try. You might have heard it through the ape vine… This game will have you hooked on the monkey bars. Like a monkey likes a banana… it has that appeal. Come monkey around with us and see what all the fuss is about.

Leave a Reply

