Seven New Wonders

The new seven wonders (Not be confused with the ancient seven wonders) is an initiative started in 2000 as a Millennium project to choose the new seven Wonders of the World from a selection of 200 existing monuments.

The ‘new’ seven wonders were selected in 2007 by internet and phone from countries around the globe.

Below is how it stands now;

Wonder Location Image Year
Giza Necropolis
(honorary title)
أهرامات الجيزة
Giza, Egypt Pyramide Kheops 2589 BC
Great Wall of China
Wànlǐ Chángchéng
China The Great Wall of china (Mutianyﺁ section) 700 BC
Ma’an Governorate, Jordan The Monastery at Petra 312 BC
Rome, Italy The Colosseum at dusk: exterior view of the best-preserved section AD 70
Chichen Itza
Chi’ch’èen Ìitsha’
Yucatán, Mexico cordelia maxwell house AD 600
Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu
Cuzco, Peru Machu Picchu in Peru AD 1438
Taj Mahal
ताज महल
تاج محل
Agra, Uttar Pradesh, India Taj AD 1632
Christ the Redeemer
Cristo Redentor
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro AD 1926

The Giza Necropolis is the only ancient wonder to remain in the new seven wonders list.

There were many reasons why the New seven wonders organisation launched. The original Seven Wonders of the Ancient World is a list that has no doubt long frustrated intrepid travelers. Six of the seven structures on the list haven’t existed for centuries, and must be forever imagined, never seen. (And one of the seven, the Hanging Gardens of Babylon, may never have existed at all, according to some historians.) So for this day and age, the 2007 list generated is the most agreed wonder list to date. An unbiased vote from continent to continent stating what they value in importance as a world wonder.

I studied Ancient History and Modern History many years ago in School – well before the ‘New’ seven wonders. It does not surprise me to see that Giza is still there.  In total, there were roughly 80 pyramids built in Egypt. The Giza Necropolis is an archaeological site on the Giza Plateau , on the outskirts of Cairo, Egypt.  This complex of ancient monuments includes the three pyramid complexes known as the Great Pyramids, the massive sculpture known as the Great Sphinx, several cemeteries, a workers’ village and an industrial complex. It is by far the oldest of the ancient Wonders and the only one still in existence dating back 2589 years before Christ. This is a monument that truly makes scholars wonder in awe at its creation.

The modern wonders don’t amaze quite the same way the ancient ones do. When you look at civilizations, cultures and resources available at the time these monuments were built, it’s hard to believe that they were built in preparation for death. Even with a belief in the afterlife,  its amazing so many workers would have given their lives for their pharaoh, their king, in preparation for their own death. So much organisation and so time consuming. So much effort to build a giant coffin wouldn’t you think?. I believe they must have served another purpose. There are plenty of theories but at the end of the day, that is still why it is at the top of the list. It really does make you wonder !

So whether it’s a giant set of tombs, a big security fence to keep Rabbits and Mongolians out, even a fancy place of worship, each of the seven new wonders have an amazing  story to tell 🙂



5 thoughts on “Seven New Wonders

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s