High

HIGH

I was going to paint a master piece, but I got high…
I was going to get paint and brushes, but I got high…
My canvas is still blank and I know why…
Because I got high, because I got high, because I got high!
As the musician Afroman once said, ‘ because I got high’.  Hmm, what is he referring to exactly I wonder lol.
  • Height

  • High atmospheric pressure,  a high pressure area
  • High Computability, a quality of a Turing degree, in computability theory

  • High technical analysis, or top, an event in market-price fluctuations of a security

  • High tectonics, in geology an area where relative tectonic uplift took or takes place

  • Substance intoxication, also known by the slang description “being high”
  • Sugar high, the acute physical and psychological effects of the molecule sucrose

Maybe it was a sugar over dose
When I hear the word ‘high’ I think of euphoria.  Euphoria is when a person experiences intense feelings of well-being, elation, happiness, excitement, and joy. Basically ‘a happy place’.  Sometimes when you are in your ‘happy place’, your creative juices do seem to flow better. Perhaps it’s simpler than what we thought. I feel that when you are in your happy place, world troubles, bills, conflict and other day-to-day worries seem to be at the back of your mind. The only thing you want to do is create and/or experiment.
To get to the ‘high’ or happy place, drug abuse isn’t the answer. So many artists in history have thought they were but sadly the drugs took over and they became addicts and some lost their lives to this addiction.  Substance abuse definitely isn’t the answer to a successful art project.
Getting into the right frame of mind can sometimes just take time, patience or you have to deal with those day-to-day stresses that sometimes suck the life out of you. For me, work often sucks the life out of my creative side. Work sometimes makes me unhappy and the only way I can get back to the artistic creativity is by dealing with issues.
If I get behind the 8-ball, I’m not creative. My mind is too busy planning and scheduling. I have to find my happy place to get rolling.
So what gives you a high? Is it chemical induced? Is it an emotion felt after a personal experience? Sometimes even watching a ‘feel good’ movie can give you a high. Seeing people happy or surrounding yourself with happiness will bring you a high… unless you are a miserable person I guess, that may not work out too well lol.
Either way monkeys, get high, legally if possible, and make a masterpiece. Remember the song and don’t let it take control of you.
Enjoy the moment and be happy
Leave a Reply

