Snapshot Contest – Results

Congratulations to Victoria and runners-up Karen and Deb, with a special mention to Lizzie.

image

Snapshot a famous scene and turn it into your own work of art hey? As I perused the first batch of submissions, I must say it was a little eye opener to see so many familiar famous scenes from a diverse range of International Monkey Artists.

We had seen flashes of history, visions of architecture, moments from a valued movie, memories that have stood out for an individual as being an unforgettable occasion.

This contest, inspired by the technique of Visual Artist Viv Owen’s artwork, actually enthused me to be a little more resourceful with art. Like many artists, I usually search through Google for a reference image that I can work with. I had never watched any movie and thought to take a picture at a memorable or significant event.
I’ve taken many photos over my time too and never really considered turning the photographic art into a different art medium.

So after initial clarification about the competition, I decided to watch Batman ‘The dark knight’ again, for the 100th time, just in case I missed something of course. I had my phone camera on standby and I was ready to go. I then waited and watched with camera ready in one hand and the remote ready to pause in the other.
I even got to the point of taking the movie frame by frame until I got the right amount of light, the right amount of focus and the suitable moment for me to capture.
It was definitely something I’ve never attempted before. Now it’s something I will most definitely try again. Plus I’m looking back at my old photos now instead using someone’s.

As I read the attached comments of the submitted works, I found it touching to see how and why these famous scenes where memorable for each artist.
Some scenes were very personal to the artist yet they could still portray the significance of the moment in time and what it meant to them.
Sometimes, this was achieved by saying nothing at all, just the care of the brush stroke or the cleanliness of a line. The passion is delivered by both the effort and style used.

I think that it is an honor to look through someone’s eyes with any of their art, however, this contest in particular allowed the audience to get a glimpse into some of the artist’s hearts and minds and we as the audience were fortunate to discover what is
‘memorable’ to them individually.

Our winner – Victoria’s work of art

Victoria: I chose a scene that is famous to me. My style has always been cartoon like, and one of the biggest reason I have always drawn was Tex Avery and Looney Tunes. There were a hundred scenes from a hundred different looney tunes movies/cartoons. One of the most influential ones was "What's Opera Doc" and this shot of Elmer always makes me smile and brings back sooooo many memories. Cheesy I know, but that is 100% me!
Victoria: I chose a scene that is famous to me. My style has always been cartoon like, and one of the biggest reason I have always drawn was Tex Avery and Looney Tunes. There were a hundred scenes from a hundred different looney tunes movies/cartoons. One of the most influential ones was “What’s Opera Doc” and this shot of Elmer always makes me smile and brings back sooooo many memories. Cheesy I know, but that is 100% me!
Viv: This cartoon gets the spirit of the competition spot on:
an image from something that engages you emotionally that was ‘only’ on TV/film. A well-chosen moment that gives an expressive composition
that stands as a painting.

 Our runners-up Karen & Deb

Karen: The JokerHe took me 6 hours, a labour of love.
Karen: The Joker – He took me 6 hours, a labor of love.
Viv: Great technique used here. It is a faithful copy of an existing film still, which unfortunately means the credit for the composition, & colour can only go to the original maker.
Deb: "All right. Mr. DeMille, I'm ready for my close-up." I drew this from a camera shot I took from watching the film on TV. Hopefully, the feel of television shows. This is Gloria Swanson's famous scene showing her complete loss of touch with reality in the film noir classic 'Sunset Blvd.' (1950). The film was nominated for 11 Academy Awards and won three. It was deemed "culturally, historically, and aesthetically significant" by the US Library of Congress in 1989 and was included in the first group of films selected for preservation in the National Film Registry in 1998. It ranked 12th on the American film Institute's list of the 100 best films of the 20th century and in 2007 was 16th on their 10th anniversary list
Deb: “All right. Mr. DeMille, I’m ready for my close-up.” I drew this from a camera shot I took from watching the film on TV. Hopefully, the feel of television shows. This is Gloria Swanson’s famous scene showing her complete loss of touch with reality in the film noir classic ‘Sunset Blvd.’ (1950). The film was nominated for 11 Academy Awards and won three. It was deemed “culturally, historically, and aesthetically significant” by the US Library of Congress in 1989 and was included in the first group of films selected for preservation in the National Film Registry in 1998. It ranked 12th on the American film Institute’s list of the 100 best films of the 20th century and in 2007 was 16th on their 10th anniversary list.
Viv: This is an expressive rendering of an already exaggerated face,
which really captures the scene. Good handling of the lighting too.

…with a special mention to Liz

Lizzie: We took the boat out last week and my son & I were sitting on the bow after swimming. I was taking pictures, and he was snuggling. My little guy said ,"Mom, would you draw me just like this?" Yes. Yes, I will. He's a stinker, but he's my stinker.
Lizzie: We took the boat out last week and my son & I were sitting on the bow after swimming. I was taking pictures, and he was snuggling.  My little guy said ,”Mom, would you draw me just like this?” Yes. Yes, I will. He’s a stinker, but he’s my stinker.
Viv: A really lovely, sensitive work, with great palette & composition. Unfortunately I couldn’t choose it for this competition because it doesn’t follow the brief to take the photo from film/TV.

The categories covered in the submissions are quite significant. We see religion, politics, architecture, entertainment, culture, art and family.
All pieces had a little insight into the artist’s treasured memories. For that, we thank you for your participation and your willingness to share your famous scene.

All Monkey Side Bars Entries…

image(10) image(9) image(8) image(7) image(6) image(5)

Our admins efforts;

image(3)

image(4)

Appreciation goes to our sponsor friends at Caseen, for giving away the latest generation stylus – The VIBE INK 2-in-1 to our winner and classic rubber nib styluses to our two runners up. Thank you Caseen 🙂
http://www.caseen.com/caseen-VIBE-INK-Stylus-Pen-Black-for-Capacitive-Touch-Screens_p_263.html
Our judge for the Snapshot Contest, the astounding Visual Artist, Viv Owen, has also exhibited the winning entries: http://vivowen.wordpress.com/2014/03/30/snapshot-competition-monkey-side-bars/
We are very honored and grateful to you Viv for checking each submission with such admiration. Thank you again for your time ❤
To learn more about Viv’s technique, paintings and upcoming art exhibitions please take a look at the website below.
http://vivowen.co.uk

Thank you to all of you monkeys who entered our contest. You all did an incredible job, your on-going support and wonderful feedback we receive here at Monkey Side Bars makes it all worth the while.

Cheers everyone and monkey on 😀

Author: David Burles – Editor: Tabitha Raincloud
Collage Maker: Stacy Curtis

Leave a Reply

